Decoding Pennsylvania’s Highway Safety Laws: What Drivers Need to Know

Decoding Pennsylvania’s Highway Safety Laws: What Drivers Need to Know

Generally, the basic rules of the road are similar across the country, but there are some differences in each state. Knowing the traffic safety rules can not only keep you compliant with the law but also reduce your chances of being injured in a car accident.

Decoding Pennsylvania's Highway Safety Laws What Drivers Need to KnowDrivers who travel throughout the Keystone State should familiarize themselves with some of the most notable of Pennsylvania’s traffic safety laws.

  • Vehicles in Pennsylvania should always drive on the right lane on multi-lane highways unless they are:
    • Overtaking another vehicle.
    • Moving left to account for merging traffic.
    • Traveling with the intent to turn left on a private road or intersection. Here a driver is allowed to travel in the left lane for up to two miles before they turn left.
    • When a traffic control device or officer directs traffic to travel in the left lane.
    • Drivers can be fined $100 for violations of these rules.
  • When inclement weather calls for a car’s windshield wipers to be put on continuously or intermittently then a driver must also have their headlights on.  Violations of this law can lead to a $25 fine plus associated costs which could add up to around $100.
  • Pennsylvania can have very cold winters that come with plenty of snow and ice. A driver must take the time to clean off ice and snow from their vehicle before driving it. Failure to do so can mean fines when snow or ice falls off of a car and injures another party or causes death. Fines can be as high as $1,000 per offense.
  • If a driver comes upon an emergency scene, a traffic stop, or a disabled vehicle then they must slow down or move over a lane giving room for any of the individuals in these scenarios. Violations of this “Steer Clear Law” can lead to fines as high as $250.
  • Traffic violations that happen in an emergency response area will be doubled. Should injuries to a worker occur, then in addition to hefty fines, a 90-day driver’s license suspension can also come about. Plus, road workers and emergency responders are allowed, under the law, to report drivers who violate the regulations when an officer is not present after which citations can be issued.

It is always best to stay alert and focused when driving and to follow the traffic laws in the state where you are driving. Violations can not only increase the risk of an accident but also result in expensive fines and potentially, license suspension.

Speak with an Attorney at Edelstein Martin & Nelson, LLP

There are more than 120,000 miles of roads and highways that traverse the state of Pennsylvania. Each year well over 100,000 reportable accidents take place on these roads. While there is no way to completely eliminate the risk of being in a crash there are many responsible behaviors that can reduce the chances of being in one, including following the rules of the road.

If you were injured in a Pennsylvania car accident, then you may be able to recover financial compensation for your damages. Call Edelstein Martin & Nelson, LLP today at (215) 731-9900 to schedule a free consultation with an experienced Pennsylvania car accident attorney.


Call Email